Bento announces squad

This week the Korean coach Paulo Bento announced his second squad as his side prepare for two friendlies this month against Uruguay and Panama on the 12th and 16th October respectively.

The new Portuguese coach started his career in South Korea undefeated last month. This is his chance to really cement his plans on his players ahead of the Asian Cup. 

He also looks like he has a full squad to pick from with all his top overseas talent included in his team. There was talk that Bento would rest Son Heung-min but he is in the side. 

As the Korean FA came to a decision with Spurs that he would play now but then not join up with the national side till the third game of the Asian Cup. This will mean that he can be part of the busy Christmas and New Year fixtures in England. 

One he has named Son in his squad he's also kept many of the players who played at the World Cup in the summer. Jo Hyeonwoo and Lee Jae-Sung are included who also played in Russia. Meanwhile, Lee Chung-Yong who recently found a new club in Germany with VfL Bochum was excluded from the side. 

A player who looks set to make his debut for his country is  Park Ji-Soo of Gyeongnam as the players impressed this season. This will be a big moment for the player who was playing K League 2 football last season. 

Here is the full list of the team that Bento selected. 


Kim Seunggyu (Vissel Kobe, Japan)
Kim Jinhyeon (Cerezo Osaka, Japan)
Jo Hyeonwoo (Daegu FC)


Kim Younggwon (Guangzhou Evergrande, China)
Jung Seunghyun (Kashima Antlers, Japan)
Jang Hyunsoo (FC Tokyo, Japan)
Kim Minjae (Jeonbuk Hyundai)
Lee Yong (Jeonbuk Hyundai)
Park Jisoo (Gyeongnam FC)
Kim Moonhwan (Busan IPark)
Hong Chul (Suwon Bluewings)
Park Jooho (Ulsan Hyundai)


Hwang Inbeom (Daejeon Citizen)
Ki Sungyeung (Newcastle United, England)
Jung Wooyoung (Al-Sadd, Qatar)
Koo Jacheol (FC Augsburg, Germany)
Nam Taehee (Al-Duhail, Qatar)
Lee Jinhyun (Pohang Steelers)
Lee Seungwoo (Hellas Verona, Italy)


Lee Jaesung (Holstein Kiel, Germany)
Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur, England)
Moon Seonmin (Incheon United)
Hwang Heechan (Hamburger SV, Germany)
Suk Hyunjun (Stade de Reims, France)
Hwang Uijo (Gambo Osaka, Japan)

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post